Loading Events

« All Events

COVID-19 in Pregnancy: Best Practices for Management of the Maternal Population

May 13 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Pregnancy poses unique risks for patients and challenges for the healthcare teams caring for them, including identification and management of SARS CoV2 (COVID-19) infection and potential concomitant sepsis. Available data suggest that symptomatic pregnant patients with COVID-19 are at increased risk of more severe illness compared with nonpregnant peers. Although the absolute risk for severe COVID-19 is low, pregnant women with symptomatic COVID-19 infection may be at increased risk of ICU admission, need for mechanical ventilation and ventilatory support (ECMO), and death. Like the general population, pregnant patients with comorbidities such as obesity and diabetes may be at an even higher risk of severe illness.

This webinar will address best practices for the management of SARS CoV2 infection in pregnant populations to date and discuss considerations for sepsis from SARS CoV2 or bacterial co-infection.

May 13, 2021, 1:00 – 2:00 PM CST/ 2:00 – 3:00 PM EST / 11:00 am – 12:00 PM PST (US and Canada)

The programs included here are intended to be educational in nature; sales-based presentations are not permitted. It is the responsibility of the participant to assure that individual programs meet the continuing education requirements and conditions of her/his credentialing body. MPO/MNPQC is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained in these programs. Utilizing the above links will take you away from the MPO website.